On August 28, 2018, Illinois enacted changes to the Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program Act to create the Opioid Alternative Pilot Program. The long-term goal of this program is to reduce opioid deaths.

What do you need to know about OAPP?

  • Qualifying patients for OAPP must be at least 21 years old and be a resident of Illinois.
  • Registered patients are eligible to purchase 2.5 ounces of medical cannabis every 14 days.
  • There are no caregiver provisions for OAPP.
  • People with a CDL driver’s license or a school bus driver permit cannot apply.
  • Current MCPP participants are not eligible to register for OAPP.

What will you need to register for OAPP?

  • An Illinois driver’s license or state ID
  • Proof of address documentation
  • Passport-sized photograph
  • Credit or debit card, to cover the $10 fee

How to participate in the program:

Your physician must first complete the OAPP Online Physician Certification (PC).

This is the opportunity for an Illinois-licensed physician to certify that an individual has a medical condition for which an opioid has been, or could be, prescribed based on generally accepted standards of care.
The physician is then responsible for uploading the physician’s certificate to the online database.

The physician’s certification is only valid for 90 days, but it can be renewed to allow patients to continue accessing medical cannabis should that be deemed necessary.

Next, you must register online via the Illinois Cannabis Tracking System (ICTS).

Registration must occur within 30 days of receiving the physician’s certification.

The patient must have a valid email address for OAPP registration.

A temporary password will be sent from the ICTS to the patient’s email address.

Use the temporary password to login to ICTS, and then change it for security reasons.

Match the patient’s registration on ICTS with the previously issued physician’s certification.

The OAPP registered patient will then receive an email with his/her registry card information.

What if you want to renew your participation on the OAPP program?

Any registered OAPP patient who wishes to have their license renewed, should contact their physician for a review appointment during the final 30 days of their valid certification. This review must be done in person. A new physician’s certificate must then be submitted online by the doctor, the patient’s registration must be updated, and another fee of $10 must be paid.

Resources, publications, laws, and rules

Links to Illinois laws, rules and regulations regarding the OAPP as well as other resources and publications from research to warnings,  can be easily accessed via the Illinois Department of Public Health Website. Visit the Medical Cannabis Patient Registry Program section.